iMessage is Apple's built-in instant messaging (IM) service, which lets you send text, picture, video, sound, and location to anyone else using iMessage on iPhone, iPad, Mac, or Apple Watch. If you have sent iMessages to your friends but get no response, there's a chance you have been blocked. And you won't get an alert when it happens. In this post, we're going to walk you though several tips to know if someone has blocked you on iPhone iMessage, and what you can do.
If you sent an iMessage and nothing is shown on the other end, you may run into issues where your friends have blocked you from being able to contact them via iMessage. But first, you need to make sure that iMessage is activated before you can successfully send iMessages on your iPhone or iPad. Here are the processes involved.
Sending an iMessage on iPhone is the same as sending an SMS message after you have activated it. If you're brand new to iPhone or iPad, here's how to do it:
If you have an iPhone and want to stop an annoying contact messaging you, here's how to block someone via the iMessage on the iPhone or iPad:
Now you have learned how to activate and send iMessage on iPhone/iPad, as well as how to block someone via the iMessage. Below are several tips to help you tell if you're blocked on iMessage.
Well, getting to know if you're blocked on iMessage is a no-brainer! You only need to check the bubble color of iMessage you send. Green bubbles represent SMS messages while blue bubbles represent iMessages. Any iMessage you sent without a delivered response and after a few minutes the iMessage bubble turns into green color indicates that you have been blocked.
However, this can be caused by the fail of iMessage network, then your iMessage will be revert back as text message. You can keep sending iMessages to eliminate the network issue. But if you keep having the iMessage bubbles turning from blue to green, then you have been blocked definitely.
Another tell-tale sign that you're blocked on iMessage is to check the status of the send iMessages. Usually, the "Send Read Receipts" for messages in iPhone's Settings is turned on and actually the default setting of this option is ON. If the iMessage you sent remains blue but never turns to Read, then you have either been blocked, or the receiver may not turn on the "Send Read Receipts" feature.
If you have a MacBook, it is quite easy to tell if someone blocked you on iMessage. Just send an iMessage from your iPhone or your MacBook. You will see a Delivered icon under the iMessage on your iPhone. If the MacBook shows NOTHING under the iMessage, neither Delivered or Read sign, then your friend may have blocked you.
A major way to tell if someone has blocked you on iMessage is to try giving them a call. Listen attentively to the receiving mode of the call. If the phone rings once and directs you to voicemail immediately, the person has unarguably blocked you. But if the call does not ring at all and direct you straight to voicemail, you cannot conclude yet until you try to call again.
You may accidentally delete some iMessages and want to retrieve them back. Here we recommend you use FoneGeek iPhone Data Recovery. This powerful program can help you recover deleted text messages/iMessages on iPhone, as well as contacts, call logs, voicemail, WhatsApp, photos, videos, notes, voice memos, etc. It is very easy to use, just follow the steps below: