Have you ever sent an iMessage to someone but the response was never returned? Have you suspected that you were in the blacklists on your friend's iMessage?
If you have any doubts whatsoever, the methods given in this post will show how to tell if someone blocked you on iMessage.
It is tricky to know for sure if you have been blocked in iMessage. Your message sends as normal and you won't receive any error message.
When you send an iMessage to someone who has blocked you, the text will still look like it's has been sent and remian blue, however, the person will never receive that message, let along respond to you.
Meanwhile, you will never get a "Delivered" notificaton, but this is not proof that you've been blocked. If you are not sure if someone has blocked you on iMessage or not, below are some tips to help you. Let's explore.
If the iMessage has been sent successfully, the bubble color of this message shall be blue. You may have been blocked if the message turns green and never returns a response.
Yet, this option is not absolutely sure. Sometimes, iMessage will be resorted to message due to network issue. What you can do is to consistently send iMessages to check whether the bubble colors continually turning to green. If they all turn from blue to green, it is a hint you're blocked.
iMessage displays "Delivered" notificaitons or "Read" receipts which is activated in iPhone settings by default. If you can't see any delivered status after sending the iMessage, you might be blocked.
But keep in mind that this may also happen when the receiver has turned on "Do Not Disturb" mode on their iPhone/iPad and the message is not delivered successfully. When they turn off the DND mode, the message will get delivered and you will get notification. If the status is never updated, you may be in the block list.
This way is practicable if you have both an iPhone and a MacBook in hand. Send an iMessage to your friend either via iPhone or Mac. Normally, the indication icon of "Delivered" will appear after the successfully sending.
However, if your have been blocked on iMessage, the read receipt or delivered notification will never appear on your iPhone and MacBook.
Another option is to call or FaceTime the person whom you suspect has blocked you on iMessage. If he or she has blocked you on iMessage, your phone number may be in his or her blacklist as well.
Just give the person a call and listen how the call is received, if the phone rings once and then gets cut off or diverts to voicemail, you are permanently blocked. As for FaceTime, if the call gets rejected immediately, this means that you are blocked.
If you still don't believe that you are blocked by someone, you can try to disable your caller ID and call the person you suspect has blocked you on iMessage.
On your iPhone, open the Settings app and tap "Phone", then tap on "Show My Caller ID" and turn it off. Then call the receipent directly, you're probably blocked if the phone passes.
One more chance to verify whether your friend has blocked you on iMessage is to check the conversation between you and your friend.
Go to the Message App on your iPhone to find the conversation information, check whether the read receipt still exist below the last sent message. Generally, the default setting will not disappear unless the person has blocked you. Thus this option could also be a good choice for the verify.
If the person has another number, you can send him/her another iMessage at different number. Find the new contact number of the person and send an iMessage. If the message is successfully sent and the color of the message status is blue, you may be blocked by the person on iMessage.
If you have ever deleted some precious iMessages without awareness, you'll know how painful it is. It's not that easy to get the deleted iMessages back, but it is possible to do.
FoneGeek iPhone Data Recovery (Supports iOS 15/14) is recommended when it comes to recover lost data from iPhone or iPadetc. It enjoys good reputation and wins much praise.
To get started, download the trial version of FoneGeek iPhone Data Recovery on your computer and install it.
Step 1. Select "Recover from iOS Device" on the user interface if you have access to the iPhone. Connect your iPhone to the computer via USB cable. Once the device is detected, click on "Scan" to begin scanning.
Step 2. After a moment, all the deleted and existing data on the iPhone will be scanned and shown. Select iMessages from the data types on the sidebar to preview each message in detail. If you want to use them in the future, click "Recover" button to save them on your computer.
It is really hurt if you have been blocked by someone. If you've followed these tips in this article and find out that you are blocked by someone on iMessage. Try not worry about it, just respect their decisions and let it go.
Joan J. Mims is interested in researching all tips about iPhone, iPad and Android. He loves to share useful ideas with all users.