Resetting networking settings effectively solves many network connection issues such as Wi-Fi disconnecting frequently, iPhone network not working, Bluetooth not working, etc.
However, while it may be a viable solution, not many users know the nitty-gritty of resetting network settings. For instance, what happens if I reset network settings? What does it do? These are just some of the questions that not many users can answer.
Luckily, we’ll tackle all these questions and more in this article to ensure you’re better informed before resetting your iPhone’s network settings. Let’s get started.
You can reset network settings on your iPhone to fix problems in certain situations, such as;
It’s quite easy to perform this quick fix, although it will eliminate your iPhone's current Wi-Fi connections. You can easily do it in your iPhone settings; all it takes is a few taps. Follow these steps.
In most devices and services, it’s possible to manually remove specific information that relates to individual internet connections. For instance, you’re able to delete a particular Wi-Fi network if you don’t use it anymore, and all the other Wi-Fi connections won’t be affected.
However, resetting network settings is pretty different because it will delete the login information for that single Wi-Fi network and the data for all the other stored Wi-Fi connections.
The process will also delete your stored VPN information, Bluetooth device pairing, and mobile network preferences. Before I got informed, I always wondered what would happen if I reset network settings on my iPhone. So, if you’ve also been asking yourself this same question, then now you know what to expect.
There’s a big difference between a network settings reset and a factory reset. There is one thing you need to keep in mind always. Resetting network settings generally removes all your local network, internet, and paired devices’ data.
On the other hand, a factory reset clears out everything on your device. It reverts the device to its original state like the first time you unboxed it. It deletes all the other essential data, including personal files, folders, and media on your device. Your web browser data like saved bookmarks, browsing history, and third-party applications are equally deleted.
Network settings reset only deletes:
No mobile carrier functionality or account information gets deleted during resetting network settings on either iPhone or Android smartphones. Resetting network settings also doesn’t affect your ability to access apps, send texts, or make phone calls.
The process does just reset the changes to mobile preferences you made since activating your iPhone or iPad. For instance, if you disabled your iPhone’s 5G, you’ll need to do so again once the network settings reset process is complete.
As mentioned, resetting network settings will wipe out your internet and network-related data. So, trying other fixes first before embarking on a network settings reset is better. You can do the following general fixes, known to resolve internet and network issues with no data loss.
If none of these works, you can use a third-party iOS repair tool, such as FoneGeek iOS System Recovery to fix the network issue you’re experiencing on your iPhone. It is capable of fixing all kinds of iOS system issues (over 200 of them), including any network-related problems such as iPhone not connecting to Wi-Fi, iPhone constantly dropping Wi-Fi, iPhone weak signal, VPN not working, Mobile Data not working, and iPhone Bluetooth problems. It is very easy to use and can fix your network problem without any data loss. Also, it supports all iOS versions (even iOS 16 Beta) and all iPhone models (even iPhone 14).
Steps to Fixing Network Problems Using FoneGeek iOS System Recovery
Is resetting network settings bad?
Well, resetting network settings will erase your iPhone's internet and network-related data. It’s much better to try out alternative ways like restarting your device, switching on Airplane mode, turning it off again, and reconnecting to WiFi. They can help fix the connectivity issues without requiring a network settings reset.
Is it safe to perform the network settings reset?
Doing a network reset on your device is safe because personal data don’t get lost during the process. Your music, videos, photos, etc., will remain intact. Even your contacts or text messages won’t be deleted.
You’ll only face slight inconveniences, such as manually logging in and entering your password again in your Wi-Fi connections and having to pair your audio devices like headphones and speakers before you stream audio over Bluetooth.
How often should I reset network settings on iPhone?
Anytime you experience an issue related to Wi-Fi or Bluetooth connection on your iPhone, you can consider doing network settings reset.
Why is my internet slow even after resetting Wi-Fi networks?
Resetting network settings can improve your Wi-Fi speed, but if it doesn’t, it’s likely that the speed internet package you subscribe to is inadequate compared to your data consumption.
The other possible reason is that many unauthorized users could be connected to your Wi-Fi network since you didn’t set a new password once you reset your network settings.
What is the difference between resetting all settings and resetting network settings?
They are completely different. Resetting all settings removes all settings, including network settings and the other settings for Apps, email, etc. It deletes all content and settings on your device and restores it to its original state when it is new.
However, resetting network settings only removes the login details for all your stored Wi-Fi connections. It would help if you used reset all settings when you want to get your device ready for a new owner.
What happens if I reset network settings on iPhone? Well, the answer to that question, I believe it’s pretty clear now. Hope this guide has helped you better understand what resetting networking settings mean, how to do it, and what you can expect from it.
However, if it fails to work, or you don’t want to go through the hassle of entering your Wi-Fi login details again, we recommend using the FoneGeek iOS System Recovery. It will fix any network-related issue you’re facing, and no data or settings on your iPhone will be removed.
Fay J. Melton has explored the area of technology and software for more than 5 years and he is enthusiastic about helping users solve various technology issues.
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Copyright © 2022 FoneGeek Software Co., Ltd. All Rights Reserved